Wk 4 – Automatic Drawing

IMG_0499.jpg
IMG_0498.jpg

For this project, I had no clue what I was really supposed to do, so I did the best I could. Seeing as the only other person in my room was my younger sister, I asked her to help me out. I told her it was going to be quick and she could go back to preparing her birthday gift for her friend. Following the professor’s instructions, I made sure there were no distractions and I only left one lamp on as a source of light. It was awkward at first, since I told her we’d have to hold the same pastel crayon and maintain eye contact.

We began our conversation by talking about something simple–how our day was. Then, we moved onto talking about when we went to drink boba tea earlier, and I told her I’d taken a sip of her drink without her looking, which caused her to make a hard streak onto the paper. We switched pastel crayons often, considering she broke the yellow one. We managed to never looked down on at the paper, since we wanted to be surprised at what the final result would be. Five minutes had gone by, and we ended up laughing about the fact that tomorrow is my birthday and she doesn’t have a gift prepared for me yet…

All in all, I enjoyed this project. It may not look like much, but it gave my sister and I a reason to have a nice conversation.

Leave a Reply

